Approvals

Nothing goes out until a person says yes.

Every post waits for a yes from your team or your client, and our server holds that rule for every person, tool and AI assistant.

The Chockstone iPhone app's Approve screen

What it does

Approve on the web or on iPhone

Nothing goes out until a person on your team approves it. Approve from the calendar on the web, or swipe right in the iPhone app.

Rules held on our server

Approvals, posting limits and messaging rules are enforced on our server, so no assistant or tool can skip them.

Undo for 7 days

Every change is listed in Activity, and most can be undone for 7 days. Anything already published stays published.

Self-approval, only if you allow it

An owner can let one connection approve what it submits. That is off until they turn it on, and TikTok and YouTube posts still wait for a person.

How approvals compare

Every Chockstone Labs plan has approvals. On Creator and Studio a client approves through a link, with no seat to buy.

What it doesChockstone LabsBufferHootsuiteLaterMetricoolPubler
An approval step before posts go outYes: Every planPaid plans only: TeamPaid plans only: AdvancedPaid plans only: GrowthPaid plans only: AdvancedPaid plans only: Business
Clients approve through a link, with no accountPaid plans only: Creator and Studio, no seatNo: Clients need a loginNot found: Team members approvePartly: Link can comment, not approvePaid plans only: Advanced, by emailed linkNo: Clients sign in as members
Approve in the phone appYes: Swipe right on iPhonePaid plans only: TeamYes: Plan not statedNo: Approvals are desktop onlyPartly: Send for review; approving not statedPaid plans only: Business
A log of every changeYes: Every planNot foundPartly: Inbox conversations onlyPartly: Per post, GrowthPartly: Per post, paid plansNot found
Undo a change days laterYes: For 7 daysNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot found

Checked November 1, 2026 on each company’s own pages. A plan name means that plan or a higher one.

Cheapest monthly price with an approval stepFor 1 person and 3 social accounts, billed monthly. List prices in US dollars before tax, checked November 1, 2026.
ToolCheapest monthly price
Chockstone Labs
Free Starter
Publer
$30 Business, $5 or $10 an account
Buffer
$36 Team, $6 or $12 a channel
Later
$50 Growth
Metricool
$67 Advanced, at 15 brands
Hootsuite
Advanced, up to $399 a user; no starting price published
Sources
  1. Buffer: every team feature
  2. Buffer: approving drafts in the mobile app
  3. Hootsuite: approvals
  4. Hootsuite: approving posts
  5. Hootsuite: external approvals
  6. Hootsuite: mobile app
  7. Hootsuite: plans
  8. Later: team collaboration and approvals
  9. Metricool: approvals
  10. Metricool: mobile app
  11. Metricool: posts library
  12. Publer: approval access levels
  13. Publer: approving posts
  14. Publer: member roles

We make Chockstone Labs, so we are not neutral. These rows are the ones this page is about, so each tool’s strengths elsewhere don’t show here: our full comparisons say where each tool is ahead. Prices and plans change often, so check their sites before you decide. If something here is wrong, email hello@chockstonelabs.com and we will fix it.

Start free, with no card.

Free for 1 brand, $19 a month for 5, $79 a month for 25. Creator and Studio also add client approval links, shared reports and your own link page design. Questions? Email hello@chockstonelabs.com.